Huntly went down to a 3-1 defeat to Formartine United in their latest Aberdeenshire League fixture with the visitors netting twice from the penalty spot late in the first half.


Formartine took the lead after 25 minutes, Keith Robertshaw punched the ball out as far as Paul Lawson who took the ball under control before chipping a shot inside the post.

Huntly almost levelled soon after with Dillon Farquhar and Calum Reid both seeing efforts blocked inside the box.

The black and gold’s did level with a great piece of play in the 36th minute. Danniel Critchard played a diagonal over the top of the opposition defence for Reece McKeown to run onto before firing high inside the post.

Formartine were awarded two penalties in a three minute spell. Daniel Critchard was penalised for a challenge on Callum McIntosh with forty minutes gone. Cole Anderson would convert from the spot to put his side back in the lead.

Three minutes later, Dillon Farquhar fouled Cole Anderson and the United midfielder stepped up again to net his second of the game from the spot kick.

  1. Keith Robertshaw
  2. Jack McCormick
  3. Daniel Critchard (Mathers 89:47)
  4. Trialist
  5. Trialist
  6. Dillon Farquhar (McFadyen 87:01)
  7. Reece McKeown (Trialist 70:37)
  8. Calum Reid
  9. Paul Esslemont
  10. Cai Matthew (Askildsen 89:13)
  11. Kyle MacKillop-Hall (Trialist 65:31)
  1. Archie Mackay (Mackie H-T)
  2. Calum McIntosh
  3. Trialist (Addison 60:11)
  4. Andrew Paterson
  5. Ryan Spink
  6. Cole Anderson (Trialist 60:13)
  7. Andrew Greig
  8. Paul Lawson
  9. Trialist
  10. Trialist
  11. Jordan Lynch


14 Trialist (McKeown 70:37)
15 Keigan Mathers (Critchard 89:47)
16 Mika Askildsen (Matthew 89:13)
17 Trialist (MacKillop-Hall 65:31)
18 Dylan McFadyen (Farquhar 87:01)


12 Murray Addision (Trialist 60:11)
14 Trialist (Anderson 60:13)
21 Thomas Mackie (Mackay H-T)

Unused substitutes
21 George Ritchie

Referee: Jack Bell
Assistant Referee 1: Jeremie Fernandes
Assistant Referee 2: Andy Ewen
  1. Reece McKeown (36:34) 1-1
  1. Paul Lawson (25:31) 0-1
  2. Cole Anderson (40:06 penalty) 1-2
  3. Cole Anderson (43:45 penalty) 1-3